My Summer Skincare Routine

Hiya guys! I wanted to introduce you my “current”  skin care routine.

graphics-kawaii-small-331097

I’ve sampled my fair share of skin care products ranging from high-end brands, to the everyday drugstore brands. For the longest time, I was seriously frustrated with my skin – dry, flaky,sensitive in the winter time, to a hot, oily mess in the summertime.I do suffer from dark spots, and the occasional breakout, (not acne, mind you), and I finally concluded that it was time to invest in some decent skin care. I know that it is almost winter time, but this was my summer skin care routine

1. Makeup remover: Innisfree Apple Juicy Lip & Eye Remover- 

 

1165-1696-thickbox

Innisfree was one of the brands that  I discovered  on The Wanderlust Project. Innisfree is a relatively natural brand, for the most part, and I decided to purchase an “eye and lip” makeup remover, as I didnt wear face makeup at the time. the older version of this product had the scent of APPLESSSS graphics-kawaii-320710, sadly the newer versions don’t TT^TT. Regardless, this makeup remover did a fantastic job of removing every trace of lip and eye makeup, without stinging, or clouding my eyes up. You can purchase it here.

 

 

$_3

Cleanser: Happy Bath Berry Essence cleanser. They are four different kinds, and this one is in herb essence which is for oily skin. It claims to help excess sebum production, and to moisture as well. I absolutely loved this cleanser. This was my first Korean cleanser that I’ve ever purchased, and the cheapest too. Only $ 7.95. It was difficult to find reviews on this cleanser, but to cut to the chase this cleanser is not drying, makes your skin clean without it feeling stripped has a yummy fruity scent ( Like Trix cereal xD ), and it does not irritate my skin. You can purchase it here.

Toner: Etude House Malgem Fresh Toner:  I can’t rave enough about this toner. I actually wrote a lengthy review on Jolse , as well as the cleanser, because generally cleansers, and toners have a  notorious rep for being drying. Not the case with this particular toner line. To be honest, I think the main reason I chose to purchase this, because it’s affordable, very gentle on the skin. . . and S H I N E E

 

shinee_skin_title

Onew represents Oil control.

514aaea751a265316f7c00c8793aef39

Umph…Minho >////> ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

But Shinee aside, the toner is popular amongst teens and young adults, because there’s a chockfull of nutrients and extracts to soothe the skin, and the purpose of Asian toners just boost the skin’s ability to absorb more product, Unlike western toners which are notoriously drying, mainly because of the high alcohol content, and the main purpose is to “disinfect” the skin. ( Clinique toners pop into mind).

Emulsion Etude House Mal:gem Emulsion

– 106166709001n

 

I forgot to mention this, but the Mal:geum line includes emulsion. This was the first emulsion I’ve ever tried, and for novices to the Korean Skincare Routine, the purpose of an emulsion is to restore oil and water balance-basically it’s a lightweight moisturizer. It’s less viscous than a gel, but it will provide sufficient moisture to the skin, and it’s the prefered choice to people who have oily or combination skin.

This particular emulsion is a three-in-one: cream-essence-emulsion, so when I’m too lazy to apply cream, I would simply slap on this multi-use product, and head off to bed o u o.

Fun fact: the word Malgeum is the Korean word for purity (이맑음) ( my hangul sucks, I’m sorry)

What I loved about this particular emulsion is how it compensated for my oil-control products. It hydrated my skin, without excess sebum, and during the humid summers, my skin felt cool, and fresh-looking.

Eye: Tony Moly Panda’s Dream Eye patch 

For some inexplicable reason, I didn’t have an eye cream, I guess I didn’t think I needed it at the time, however I suffered from slight dark undereye circles ( curse you lack of sleep), and I just needed something to brighten my eyes. Some reviewers have said that it didn’t work for them, but I found that after a couple of uses, it worked for me…but maybe a little too well. I stopped using these patches, because they made my undereye area so light that I could see my veins. . . but regardless, it was a good product.

CreamEtude House Moistfull Flower Cream

You can tell by now, the majority of my skin care products are Etude House >.<. Athetically speaking, the packaging appeals me, but the quality speaks for itself, and there’s a reason why this particular cream won the 2012 Allure Beauty Awards. It may appear to be a basic moisturizer, but this cream is rich in hydration, floral extracts, especially Baobab, and ingredient that I’m familiar with. The Baobab Tree is located in Africa, and as we all know, Africa is a dry continent for the most part. The Baobab tree can store as much as 30,000 gallons of water! Holy chips! Some dub this tree as ” The Tree of Life”, and you can read the benefits of the baobab fruit, baobab oil, etc.

What’s your skin care routine? Have you tried any of these products? Please comment below, and thank you for reading!

– Annie ❤

Leave a Reply

