Screw art.

Hello Sweeties! I’m so sorry it’s been a while since I have updated. Like most people, I’m busy with school, trying to find a job, and in general…just trudging through the damn year @ ~ @. But I’ve neglected my blog, and my sincerest apologies for my readers ( and lurkers).

I’m sure you’ve noticed the title on this particular post ” screw art” and you’re wondering why? Well, for the sake of simplicity I’m going to blunt and say that art is not for everyone, and it’s purely opinionated.

I take a ceramics class which deals with using clay to create pottery. I am in Ceramics 1, and there is a Ceramics 2, but since there is only two class periods, and my class shares the room with “an actual art class”, we’re pretty much forgotten most of the time. Anyways, for the most part, I enjoyed this class, until I was encouraged to expand my creativity and produce beautiful work……and I wished it was as simple as that.

For those who’ve never taken a Ceramics Class nor worked with clay, there are several stages of clay, and several processes involved:

1. Slip- which is semi-liquid clay. This particular type of clay is stores in a container and used to attach pieces of scored slay together, or help dampen leather-hard pieces.

2. Plastic- plastic clay is very soft, and the most mold-able type of clay.

3. Leather Hard- Leather hard clay is a bit tricky to work with. It’s slightly harder than plastic dries out rather quicker, but it’s the perfect consistency for clay pieces to hold its form.

4. Bone dry – this stage is the point where all of the moisture int eh clay has been absorbed, which means that the clay is extremely brittle and water cannot be added back into the clay to be “revitalized”.

I decided not to add the additional method just to save time, and to not confuse you guys.

Anyways, one of the most glaring  issues I have with Ceramics ( or really any art class) I’ve ever taken is the level of stress and inadequacy felt during throughout the process of most of my projects. Of course I knew from the minute I entered the classroom, I wasn’t going to produce artwork like Van Goh or anyone of that magnitude, however I simply wanted to learn and develop skills to create my own artwork, that I held of value. I didn’t want to be constrained, I didn’t want to be intimidated, and more importantly, I didn’t want to endure the class…I wanted to enjoy it.

Throughout the year, I’ve noticed that most of the students who’ve taken Art Classes are Advanced Placement (AP) prodigies. One of them who is a sophomore, and (taking all advanced classes is) in my Ceramics 1 class. Don’t get me wrong, she’s a genuinely nice person and we are friends, but it’s apparent that the (new) Ceramics teacher ADORES her, because of her  “masterpieces” And yes, she did foreshadow to us that this particular student, who out of respect I will call her “O” will create a masterpiece on our last project. What made matters worse was the stress on the “due date” for our last project which was a box. I wasn’t there for at least “three working” days, because of my appointments and test makeups, and threatening to subtract points from our grade, I quickly rushed my project and it looked so horrendous that I purposely refused to have it fired. I was disappointed in myself, because I was up for the challenge, but all this stress and anxiety hindered my success.

But it’s not always been disappointment and heartbreak…This is my Piggy (cow) bank, I nicknamed J-Lo

 

 

IMG_3480IMG_3478IMG_3481IMG_3479

Inspired by them:

The story behind this lil’ piggy wasn’t exactly spontaneous in my opinion. I’m sure most of us have heard the saying “when pigs fly” (cow) ahem, which basically means something that is beyond impossible.I was inspired by this particular piece because of the simplicity and sophistication, and how delicate this particular piece was.

Anyways there is probably going to be a part 2 to this so stay tuned and I’m back

~ Annie ❤

Leave a Reply

